Follow Us LOC on Instagram LOC on Twitter
 Memphis TN.
Academic Affairs


Dr. Barbara FrankleVice-President for Academic and Student Affairs
Alfred L. Hall, II, Ph.D.

Mailing Address
LeMoyne-Owen College
807 Walker Avenue
Memphis, TN 38126

Telephone/Email Contact
Office: (901) 435-1200
Fax: (901) 435-1223
Email: academic_affairs@loc.edu

Visit LeMoyne Owen Make a Gift to LOC LOC Athletics
LeMoyne-Owen College
807 Walker Ave
Memphis TN 38126
Main Telephone: (901) 435-1000
© 2010-2011 LeMoyne-Owen College
Site Design by QuinestBishop.com and Richard Thompson
Home » Academic Affairs » Policies » Academic Prizes

The Cornelia C. Sanders Prize is an endowed prize established by Mrs. Delora S. Thompson, alumna, in memory of her sister, Miss Cornelia C. Sanders, alumna, a Memphis elementary school principal. The prize is awarded to a graduating senior who shows promise in the field of secondary education.

The Helen Shorts Memorial Prize
is an endowed fund established by the Reverend R. B. Shorts in memory of Mrs. Helen B. Shorts. The prize is awarded to a student majoring in elementary education.

The Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Prize is an endowed prize contributed by the Phi Beta Sigma fraternity, awarded to the male freshman student with the highest scholastic average at the end of two semesters at LeMoyne-Owen


The Alison Vance Prize is an endowed prize established by Mrs. Marion Vance Gibson in memory of her sister, Miss Alison Vance. Miss Vance was an alumna of the College and teacher in the Memphis elementary schools. The prize is awarded to the graduating senior who is most outstanding academically in the field of secondary education.

The Estelle Anderson Walter Senior Prize for Science Excellence is an endowed prize established by Ronald A. Walter in memory of his mother, Mrs. Estelle Anderson Walter, whose family has been associated with the College since its beginning. The prize is awarded annually to the senior majoring in Biology or Chemistry with the highest grade point average in his/her respective major.

The Juanita Williamson Award was established by an anonymous donor to honor students whose academic performance exceeds the expected and enriches the intellectual and creative climate of LeMoyne-Owen College. The prize acknowledges merit and originality in any academic endeavor and is flexible to encourage innovation. Any faculty member may recommend a deserving student to the VP/Chief Academic Officer, who shall have discretion over the award. Prizes may be granted at any time during the academic year to provide support for the honored activity.