Follow Us LOC on Instagram LOC on Twitter
 Memphis TN.
Alpha Kappa Mu


Imani FryarChapter Advisor
Elton H. Weaver III,
Ph. D.
Mailing Address
LeMoyne-Owen College
807 Walker Avenue
Memphis, TN 38126

Telephone Contact
Office: (901) 435-1403
Fax: (901) 435-1446

Visit LeMoyne Owen Make a Gift to LOC LOC Athletics
LeMoyne-Owen College
807 Walker Ave
Memphis TN 38126
Main Telephone: (901) 435-1000
© 2010-2011 LeMoyne-Owen College
Site Design by QuinestBishop.com and Richard Thompson
Home » Academic Affairs » Alpha Kappa Mu



When and where was AKM formed? AKM was founded at Tennessee A & I College (now known as Tennessee State University) in Nashville, Tennessee on November 26, 1937.


What is AKM? Alpha Kappa Mu (AKM) Honor Society is a general scholarship honor society open to junior and senior men and women in all academic areas who meet the requirements of the society.


Why AKM?  The purpose of AKM is to promote high scholarship; to encourage sincere and zealous endeavor in all fields of knowledge and service; to cultivate a high order of personal living; and to develop an appreciation for scholarly endeavor in others.




Kappa Beta Chapter History:
LeMoyne Junior College alumnus Dr. Hugh Morris Gloster (1911-2002) served as Professor of English literature and African-American language and literature at LeMoyne College from the 1930s to the 40s.  In 1940, Dr. Gloster established LeMoyne’s Alpha Kappa Mu Kappa Beta Honor Society chapter. Dr. Gloster was a “Race Man” and talented writer; he was the co-editor of The Brown Thrush, an anthology of poetry written by Black college students.  


In 1937 Dr. Gloster, along with nine other scholars from historically black colleges and universities, became the Founding Fathers of the College Language Association (CLA) at LeMoyne College in Memphis, Tennessee. Dr. Gloster became the first president of this distinguished organization (1937-38). In 1942, he was beaten, taken from a train in Mississippi, and jailed for several weeks for demanding better accommodations. In 1967, Dr. Gloster became the seventh president to serve Morehouse College.   



“We Need Black Colleges”
"Today there is no question about the continuing need for black colleges. We need them to develop leaders who will protect our interests in a country where we are outnumbered ten to one. We need them to help solve the problems of health, housing, education, and employment that beset our people in rural areas and urban ghettos. We need them to promote and preserve African and Afro- American culture. We need them to provide a place where black students who are overwhelmed or isolated at white colleges and universities may feel comfortable, cared for, and at home." -- Dr. Hugh Gloster, “The Black College-Its Struggle for Survival and Success” Journal of Negro History (1978)



What is the current national membership? There are 92,000 members in 67 active chapters.

What are the fees? The induction fee is $60 for undergraduates and $65 for graduates. The fee covers the cost of the AKM certificatemembership card, and key pin. 


Requirement: Alpha Kappa Mu National Honor Society
Students must have at least 60 earned credit hours at LeMoyne-Owen college and a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or greater. The Registrar will distribute a list of eligible students (GPA and earned hours) to the division chairs, Dean of Students, and Dean of Faculty. Nominations must be received by the Committee on Academic Standards, Honors, and Selection no later than the third Friday in February. Nominees will be presented to the faculty at the March meeting of the Faculty Assembly.


Yearly Induction: LeMoyne-Owen College holds the Alpha Kappa Mu Kappa Beta Chapter Honor Society Induction Ceremony each spring where are students, faculty, friends and family members are welcome.